States Not Expanding Medicaid Under ACA

Under the new healthcare law, the federal government will expand Medicaid to cover more lower income Americans, many of whom aren't eligible today. However, the Supreme Court ruled that governors and legislators of each state can decide whether or not to participate in the expansion. For states that opt in, the federal government will cover almost the full cost of coverage. States that opt out of the expansion will be left with the options available prior to the law's passage.

According to Jonathan Gruber, professor of economics at MIT, if a state opts in to the expansion, the federal government will cover 100 percent of each state's Medicaid costs for the first three years and 90 percent of the costs thereafter.

See below for a list of states that have opted out of expanding Medicaid under the Affordable Care Act (ACA).

• Alabama

• Alaska

• Florida

• Georgia

• Idaho

• Indiana

• Kansas

• Louisiana

• Maine

• Mississippi

• Missouri

• Montana

• Nebraska

• New Hampshire

• North Carolina

• Oklahoma

• Pennsylvania

• South Carolina

• South Dakota

• Tennessee

• Texas

• Utah

• Virginia

• Wisconsin

• Wyoming

To learn more about Medicaid and find out if you're eligible for coverage, please visit

10 health benefits required for all insurance plans under ACA  
How the Affordable Care Act affects you  
• The Affordable Care Act in 90 seconds