The Doctors discuss a hot-button law from Oregon that requires school employees to report to law enforcement or state officials if they discover a student is sexually active.
According to the law in Oregon, sex under the age of 18 is considered abuse, thus requiring it to be reported if discovered. Teachers that fail to report the student sex could be fined or lose their job. One district, in particular, is receiving backlash after mandating that school employees report these instances.
OB/GYN Dr. Nita Landry says she feels this law is promoting an abstinence-only approach to sex education, adding, “And we know that does not work.” Dr. Nita also worries that this law could lead to higher rates of STDs, as teens might not seek out advice out of fear of being reported.
Dermatologist Dr. Sonia Batra notes that reportedly 46 percent of high school students are having sex in America and that 52 percent of high school seniors have had sex. She feels this law will discourage teens from seeking out information and advice about things like pregnancy prevention and safe sex practices.
Plastic surgeon Dr. Andrew Ordon says, “Given that over half the students are engaging in sex, you have to teach them safe sex!” ER physician Dr. Travis Stork says he sees how the law would be important if the educator suspected there was abuse happening, but also would like students to be able to inquire about sex without fearing any repercussions.
Where do you land on this issue? Should educators be required to report students having sex?