Should a pre-teen be left alone in a car for an hour? A mom in New Mexico was jailed for it!
The Doctors discuss a recent headline-making incident where a mom left her son alone in the car, while she was in the gym working out. The mom was charged with a felony and now is forced to have supervised visits with her child.
ER physician Dr. Travis Stork asks if the punishment fits the crime in this instance or if it was if it was too harsh?
“The kid was probably in the car playing video games. The kid was oblivious to where he was,” Plastic surgeon Dr. Andrew Ordon surmises, to which the studio audience audibly agrees with.
Urologist Dr. Jennifer Berman raises some concerns about the mom’s decision to leave her child while at the gym, saying, “It’s different than being left alone in a house.”
Dr. Stork points out that the laws regarding the age limit for leaving a child alone are nebulous. For example, in California a child under 6 years old must be accompanied by an adult, and after 12 years old, the child can be left on its own, yet the rules for the years in-between are unclear.
Is it appropriate for a 12-year-old to be left on their own for over an hour? Tell us what you think!