I'm a NICU nurse

Subscribe to I'm a NICU nurse 11 posts, 7 voices

Icon_missing_medium CherylRN 4 posts

I have been a NICU nurse for over 30 years and I have seen way too many infants going through withdrawal symptoms. They are inconsolable. They cry constantly, and their cries are shrill and wear on nerves. Sad, sad to see. It takes a long long time for them to withdraw and suffer so much. Not only do they have problems as newborns going through withdrawal, but they do end up with learning disabilities and behavioral issues. This is a known fact. I hope that by producting more of these type of shows we can reduce (or eliminate) this problem in newborns. Awareness is key…education of what drugs will do to your baby if you become pregnant.

Icon_missing_medium bluechip 2 posts

My heart was breaking seeing all of the newborns with serious conditions.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  What happens to these babies?  I mean, a newborn with no visitors?  This is horrific.  Where are they to go?