C Diff

Subscribe to C Diff 18 posts, 10 voices

Ed_camera_258_medium snofun8 4 posts

I was left undiagnoised with c diff for over 3 years, it almost took my life. I look back and was in the hospital every 5 weeks for the whole year of 2008 and finally had takasubo cardiomiopathy and stroked from the stress on my body in 2009. It took over 5 months of very expensive antibiotics to finally be free from this bacteria.

Photo_41_medium melissaw72 4586 posts

Is c.diff contagious?  When I worked in a hospital setting there were so many precautions if a person had it.  Just wondering if there was more than one strain that you know of that wasn’t contagious.  i’m glad you are better now.

Melissa.

Aug_2004_medium bejaybe 2 posts

So sorry for your ordeal. I am being treated for c diff right now. No success yet. One thing everyone should probably be doing is to wash the outside of melons, vegetables and fruits before cutting them. Who knows for sure where we contacted this.

Icon_missing_medium castrokg 2 posts

My husband ended up in the hospital for two weeks because of this bug. He was 26 years old, very healthy, in fact our family doctor said “the healthiest he’d seen in a while”. He had been prescribed antibiotics for bronchitis and when he was off of them he couldn’t even get up out of bed without help. He’s almost 180 lbs. 6’2" tall and I couldn’t help him by myself, he actually passed out a couple of times. At first he doctors brushed him off saying it was a really bad flu. Then finally we went to the emergency room and they said it could be his apendix because of the abdominal pain. Finally after 2 days of being admitted they figured out it was c diff. It took him almost two weeks to get well enough to come home.